The 7 Stages of SDLC: From Planning to Maintenance

The 7 Stages of SDLC: From Planning to Maintenance

The 7 Stages of SDLC: From Planning to Maintenance

The 7 Stages of SDLC: From Planning to Maintenance

The 7 Stages of SDLC: From Planning to Maintenance Software development life cycle (SDLC) is an important part of the software development process and every organization has to go through these steps to complete their project successfully. In this article, we will talk about 7 stages of SDLC, that’s why we called it 7 Stages of SDLC. Read on the article to know more about these 7 phases of SDLC, their characteristics, and the advantages of adopting them in your project.

1) Introduction

Software development life cycle (SDLC) is a methodology for analyzing, designing, implementing, and maintaining an information system. There are seven phases in the SDLC process: initiation, planning, analysis/design, implementation/development, testing/evaluation and maintenance. The software life cycle can be seen as a set of phases that must be executed in order for the software product to be successfully developed. Initiating the process includes setting up a team and defining requirements for a product to be created. Planning includes creating plans for design documentations and developing schedules for completion. Analysis includes gathering data about existing systems or products as well as performing feasibility studies on new projects.

2) Planning

Planning is the first step in the development cycle. It starts with identifying a problem or opportunity and ends with conceptualizing a solution. The planning phase is often divided into seven steps that include requirements analysis, risk assessment, design, implementation planning, testing and evaluation, deployment and maintenance planning.
Key Takeaways The seven phases of SDLC are as follows: -Planning -Requirements Analysis -Design -Implementation Planning -Testing and Evaluation -Deployment and Maintenance Plan

3) Analysis

It’s important to take into consideration the phases of sdlc when making decisions about your project. They’re as follows:
1)Planning (or requirements definition)
2)Analysis and design
3)Implementation (or coding)
4)Testing (or validation)
5)Operation and maintenance
6)Decommissioning (or sunsetting)

4) Design

In order to ensure a successful project, the System Development Life Cycle model is often used. This model outlines the seven phases that should be followed when developing and maintaining software. They are: requirements gathering, analysis and design, implementation, testing, installation and deployment, documentation, support and maintenance. In conclusion, it is important to know these phases as they will help you better understand how each phase relates to one another. As well as outlining the stages, this blog post also gives tips on how best to succeed in each phase. For example, during the Analysis and Design phase it is necessary for you to identify your users’ needs and come up with high level business requirements for your system before deciding what you want from your system.

5) Implementation

Planning is the first stage in the SDLC process and it’s all about understanding business needs, requirements, goals and objectives. It’s also about gathering information on what technologies can best support your business needs. Implementation is the phase where you will actually develop these systems and create a prototype that shows how they work. Testing is done in this phase, so that you can make sure that your system works as intended before putting it into production. Transitioning is the step where you move from testing to production mode. Operation and maintenance are two phases that happen on a daily basis and involve monitoring how your system performs in its live state. The final phase of the SDLC process is disposal which involves removing outdated technology or systems that are no longer needed by your company.

6) Testing

The phases of SDLC are as follows: Analysis and Design, Construction, Implementation, Operation and Maintenance. Testing occurs after construction and before implementation in the testing phase of SDLC. It is a systematic process that includes verification, validation, and checking for errors (particularly logical ones). In this phase of SDLC all test plans should be thoroughly checked for any issues or problems that need to be solved. Testing ensures that the requirements outlined in analysis and design are correct before they are implemented into an application or system.

7) Maintenance

The most important phase of the SDLC is maintenance, since it ensures that you don’t have to start from scratch with your application or system. If a new requirement comes up, adding it to an existing project can be easier than starting over. There are three types of tasks during this phase: 1) regression testing; 2) configuration management; and 3) disaster recovery planning.


The seven phases of the SDLC are:
Phase 1 – Initiation
2 – Analysis and Design
3 – Construction and Implementation
4 – Testing
5 – Delivery and Support
6- Disposal and/or Retirement, Phase 7- Continuous Improvement.

Read more;

Computer Technician Course in Canada

Colorado State University’s Computer Information Systems Program

Computer Helps Your Teacher To Prepare In 2022

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

error: Content is protected !!
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap